“Why should I stay sexually pure?” – a word to unmarried christian men

“For this is the will of God, your sanctification; that is, that you abstain from sexual immorality; that each of you know how to possess his own vessel in sanctification and honor, not in lustful passion, like the Gentiles who do not know God; and that no man transgress and defraud his brother in the matter because the Lord is the avenger in all these things, just as we also told you before and solemnly warned you. For God has not called us for the purpose of impurity, but in sanctification. So, he who rejects this is not rejecting man but the God who gives His Holy Spirit to you.” – 1 Thessalonians 4:3-8 (Paul the Apostle)

              I want to make two points from this text. But before I make these two points, I want to make clear that what I am not doing in this blog. I am not completely explaining this text. I am not attempting to explain the main point of this paragraph or to make a comment on all the sub-points of this text. I just simply want to make two points that, to some degree and in some form, are in this text.

1.       Paul gives stealing as a reason for refraining from sexual sin. What do I mean by that? Well, Paul makes it very clear that sexual immorality is wrong and it is wrong partly because the object of the sexual activity is not owned by the person committing the sexual act. Paul says,  in verse 6, “and that no man transgress and defraud his brother in the matter.” In other words, if you are engaging in sexual activity with a woman outside of marriage, then you are stealing from a brother who will, one day, be her husband. Have you ever thought about sexual immorality in this way? It is stealing. It is more than that but it is at least that. Any sexual activity outside of marriage is stealing because, you must assume, that one day that woman will be married to another man. Your sexual act has taken something from her husband. You, the sexually immoral, are a thief.

2.       Paul promises that God will execute vengeance upon the one who steals. I do not know how God will carry out His vengeance on the one that steals. I do not know because the text here does not tell us. But I do know that it is “the Lord” who will carry-out the vengeance. I also know that “it is a terrible thing to fall into the hands of the living God.” (Hebrews 10:31) Do you want the Lord to carry out vengeance upon you? Again, I am not saying what this vengeance consists of because I do not know. But one thing I do know is this. At the moment of temptation – when a young, unmarried, Christian man is tempted to follow the impulse of his flesh and take part in sexual activity outside of marriage with a young woman – I do know that a powerful force that can combat the force of the flesh is the knowledge that “the Lord” is the avenger in such matters. Do you want to have more self-control in such situations? Then fear the wrath of the avenger. You will not go unpunished.

Christian men, have I given you a reason to combat your sexual desires? I hope so for that was the purpose of this blog.

About Sam Ketcham

Christian, Husband, Father and Soldier.
This entry was posted in Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

